

## THE SHEPPARD CUP (Challenge)

From 1929 to 1975 the competition, for the Sheppard Cup, was a challenge event. In 1971 an Open Invitation Tournament the Louis Roederer Trophy was initiated as an annual open event, but it was not the British Open. In 1975 H.R. Angus agreed to relinquish the British Open championship in order that the Open Invitation event could become the annual British Open championship, which it did from 1975 onwards.

	Winner	Runner-up	Score
1929	J.C.F. Simpson	C.R. Read	5-1
1930	J.C.F. Simpson	C.R. Read	5-0
1932	Lord Aberdare	J.C.F. Simpson	8-2
1933	I. Akers-Douglas	Lord Aberdare	4-0 (retired)
1934	A.G. Cooper	I. Akers-Douglas	7-4
1936	D.S. Milford	A.G. Cooper	8-3
1946	J.P. Dear	P. Kershaw	8-1
1951	J.P. Dear	J.H. Pawle	8-2
1954	G.W.T. Atkins	J.P. Dear	6-4
1959	J.R. Thompson	R.M.K. Gracey	3-1
1960	J.P. Dear	J.R. Thompson	7-4
1961	G.W.T. Atkins	claimed	
1967	J.W. Leonard	C.J. Swallow	7-4
1970	C.J. Swallow	J.W. Leonard	7-4
	C.J. Swallow resigned title		
1970	M.G.M. Smith	C.T.M. Pugh	walkover
1971	H.R. Angus	M.G.M. Smith	6-2
1975	H.R. Angus relinquished challenge title		