tennis NEWS

Field Trophy 2018/19

Updated Mar 10, 2019 (Final Result)
Published Aug 02, 2018
9th March Moreton Morrell; Seacourt beat Petworth to win the Field Trophy


Seacourt’s youthful 2nd pairing of William Flynn and Henry Liddington proved too strong and agile for Petworth’s experienced Charles Fuente and Andrew Page (6/2, 6/2) who struggled to find the necessary consistency to unsettle their opponents. Charlie Braham has been struggling with arthritis in his playing hand which was a hindrance against a domineering Luke Danby who strolled to a 6/1, 6/2 win in the 1st singles. The 2nd singles was one of the shortest on record when Seacourt’s Hugh latham pulled a fetlock after only three points in the first game thus gifting Petworth and Adam Dolman a lifeline. Several handicap points lower, Petworth’s Angus Williams (6/2, 6/2) was too strong in the 3rd Singles for Lea Van der Zwalmen, who nonetheless showed why she is now the leading women’s amateur but she struggled to force winners against Angus whose retrieving was first class. So at 2/2 the match result depended on the 1st doubles. Would we be treated to the first three setter of the day? Charles Danby and Mark McMurragh rushed into an early 3/0 lead but Petworth’s Bill Chambers and Steve Calder-Smith reduced the deficit to 2/3, but allowed their opponents to take the set with ease. The 2nd set was a closer affair and at 5/3 up the Seacourt pair were guilty of relaxing and allowing Petworth back into the game at 5/5. However, Danby and McMurragh were at the service end in the final game which proved decisive, securing a well-deserved Field Trophy win.

Adam Dolman wore himself out on the American Squash court to compensate for his somewhat truncated match, while Hugh was able to savour the sponsors’ excellent Cote de Beaune! Pol Roger were warmly thanked for their most generous sponsorship of the event as were Moreton Morrell and particularly Tom Granville for laying on a most enjoyable day.

Andrew Hamilton

Photographs: Tony Branfield



Seacourt beat Petworth 3-2

  • Second Doubles William Flynn & Henry Liddington bt Andrew Page & Charles Fuente 6/2 6/2
  • First Singles Luke Danby bt Charlie Braham 6/1 6/2
  • Second Singles Hugh Latham lost to Adam Dolman w/o
  • Third Singles Lea Van der Zwalmen lost to Angus Williams 2/6 2/6
  • First Doubles Charlie Danby & Mark McMurragh bt Bill Chambers & Steve Calder-Smith 6/2 6/5


Jesmond Dene lost to Petworth 2-3

  • Second Doubles Mark Dickinson & Darren Spurling bt Geoffrey Russell & William Bristowe 6/3 2/6 6/4
  • First Singles Ollie Martyn-Hemphill lost to Adam Dolman 2/6 1/6
  • Second Singles Paul Hetherington lost to Angus Williams 1/6 6/5 2/6
  • Third Singles Alex Dyter bt Freddie Bristowe 6/2 6/1
  • First Doubles John Duns & Richard MacAlister lost to Andrew Page & Charles Fuente 6/2 4/6 3/6

Seacourt beat Holyport 4-1

  • Luke Danby at Nick Baker 6/2 6/1
  • Charlie Danby & Mark Mcmurrugh bt Richard Lawrence & Jon Speirs 6/1 6/3
  • Tom Weaver bt Ed Popplewell 6/0 6/2
  • William Flynn bt Simon Talbot-Williams 6/3 6/3
  • Paul Weaver & Hugh Latham lost to Robert Peel & Andy Keeley 5/6 6/3 5/6


Jesmond Dene beat Leamington 3-2

  • Second Doubles Richard MacAlister & Felix White lost to Paul Holland & Chris French w/o
  • First Singles Ollie Martyn-Hemphill lost to Freddie Dixon 5/6 4/6
  • Second Singles Paul Hetherington bt Rob Frost 6/1 6/4
  • Third Singles Alex Dyter bt Chris Kroeger 6/5 6/2
  • First Doubles John Duns & Mark Dickinson bt Rob Stewart & Rob Allsop 1/6 6/1 6/1

Seacourt beat Hatfield 5-0

Share this page:

Share this page:

All News