general NEWS

T&RA Annual Awards 2019

Dec 17, 2019
Congratulations to all of our award winner for the 2018-19 season!


Negretti Cup

Awarded for the top amateur rackets performance - this was given to Tom Billings - an easy decision after he had won every competition he had entered during the 2018-19 season. He was also successful in becoming the 2019 World Champion.

Latham Cup

This is awarded for the best performance by a Rackets Professional over the course of the Season. Ben Bomford and Ben Cawston were nominated but it was decided Ben Bomford was worthy for his achievements in winning the Professional Singles.

Renny Cup

This is given to the best Rackets improver (Amateur or Professional). It was Awarded to Mike Bailey for his continued success in Doubles. He won the Amateur Doubles Championship and showed a good performance in all events.

Lillibet Bowl

Awarded for the best performance by a Ladies Rackets player. Whilst performances were noted by India Deakin, Issie Thorneycroft and Lauren Gooding, the Bowl was awarded to Lea Van der Zwalmen having retained her World Challenge and Open Titles.

Warburg Salver

This is awarded for an outstanding performance by a Real Tennis Professional and was given to John Lumley who won the IRTPA Professional Singles (beating Rob Fahey in the Final) and also significantly reduced his handicap in the period.

Baerlein Cup

In recognition of the top Real Tennis Amateur performance, both Jamie Douglas and Ed Kay were the stand out amateurs last season. Jamie won the Amateur Singles beating Ed, and Ed beat Jamie in the MCC Gold Racquet. Both were key members of the British team which won the Bathurst Cup. With little between them, the Amateur Singles was seen as the premier award and the Baerlein Cup was presented to Jamie Douglas.

Greenwood Trophy

This is given to the best Real Tennis improver (amateur or professional) and it was noted that James Greenley, Jack Clifton, William Flynn, Freddie Bristowe, Ned Batstone and Lea van der Zwalmen were all decent handicaps and all impressive in their own right. RTO analysis recognised the adjustments but they had played to this level immediately afterwards. On sheer tenacity, James G, Jack C and Lea VdZ stood out. After much discussion, the Greenwood was awarded to Lea van der Zwalmen, although Jack Clifton was a very close contender.

Share this page:

Share this page:

All News